DAWSON’S NAUTICAL NURSERY | AND A WHALE OF A TAIL

For Dawson’s nursery my husband grew up on buzzards bay in MA and I grew up sailing on Lake Champlain in Vermont so to honor both of these places we selected a Whale and Sailboat theme. To go with that theme my color pallet was focused on a light grey Cobalt Blue and deeper navy blue.

Nursery 3This is the second of a three part blog series about how we prepared for Dawson’s Birth. This post will focus on his adorable nursery that I brought it to life on a small budget, and the last post will cover the best way to celebrate Baby #2 (trust me it’s not a “Sprinkle” AKA smaller shower). If you missed my first post on how to prepare for your 2nd Child it is linked here⇒ PREPARING FOR BABY #2 | PART ONEIMG_3484Before I share the details of Dawson’s nursery I must give you the backdrop as to why I even cared about my second child’s nursery. My first son, Parker’s, Birth was a whale of a tail and didn’t allow me much time for nesting as we moved 6 times. Our first move was to chase our  lil’ Vermont adventure. Link to that full post here⇒ Our Lil Vermont Adventure. When I was six months pregnant we moved into a rental apartment in Stowe with a lease through the end of November and a due date of December 4th. For some reason I didn’t plan how we would bridge the days between our rental and when Parker actually arrived so November 30th found us moving out of the apartment and into the BEST WESTERN hotel near my office; because working until the day you give birth and living in a hotel is a really smart idea for first time parents. My parents were then kind enough to have us stay with them through my maternity leave, and in return we gave them baby snuggles and late night crying (Thanks again Mom and Dad!). I will spare you the details of our other moves, but our 6th and final move was into our beautiful home which was well worth the wait, but meant that Parker was already six months old by the time we were FINALLY settled.

At this point you are probably thinking “Why didn’t she name this post, the craziness of having your first child” but I wanted to give the backdrop so no mother is reading this and feeling bad that they didn’t go to lengths to create a second nursery design…it is not normal unless you have a story like mine.IMG_3513For Dawson’s nursery my husband grew up on buzzards bay in MA and I grew up sailing on Lake Champlain in Vermont so to honor both of these places we selected a Whale and Sailboat theme. It also didn’t hurt that this was quickly becoming the trendy new boy nursery theme. To go with that theme my color pallet was focused on a light grey Cobalt Blue and deeper navy blue.IMG_3493IMG_3504Since I already had the major pieces (Crib, Changing Table, Rocker) I was able to complete my nursery decorations for under $150. For each boy I wanted to create something handmade as the focal point of their rooms so for Dawson I purchased 4 blank canvas to create a nautical backdrop above his changing table. On one I painted a large whale with Chevron pattern, a second had a graphic sailboat with striped background. For each of these I sketched them out in pencil to start and then carefully painted each canvas. For the third one I took actual sail rope from my father’s boat to creative a cursive Dawson, I hand sketched the cursive and then hot glued the rope along the writing. For the final canvas I used painters tape to block out a thin boarder which would remain white and then painted the whole canvas Navy. Then I purchased three dimensional cardboard letters from AC Moore, spray painted them white and hot glued them to my canvas.IMG_0522IMG_0530My Glider was handed down to me by a motherhood mentor that I look up to and provided comfort as I rocked the boys and thought of following in her footsteps. To tie the glider into my theme I added a super fun throw pillow with a nautical map of my husband’s childhood bay (an amazing wedding gift from a dear friend). I also added a Handmade whale sewed for us by a childhood friend.Nursery 4Instead of buying Dawson a whole new Pottery Barn Everyday Chair, Dawson’s Aunt got him a super cute nautical cover for Parker’s old chair since it was no longer being used.Nursery 6As you may remember from an earlier post we had lots of hand carved trail signs from our wedding so I selected the most nautical trail name and placed it on his shelf: Lobster Claw- one of the first shoots Bob and I ever skied at Tuckermen’s ravine.Nursery 2Nursery 8My mother who is an amazing knitter and can create anything I dream up knit this beautiful striped blanket for Dawson to tie together the color pallet of the room.

My favorite detail of the room was the gift Parker made for Dawson. I found it so important to involve Parker in the process of setting up his brother’s nursery AND was also very conscious to make sure Parker was settled in his big boy room and new bed 4 months before Dawson arrived. Parker and I created a sailboat out of his footprints, I recommend doing this on inexpensive blank paper vs. a canvas as it can take a few tries to get the footprints right. Instead of using an ink pad I actual painted the bottom of Parker’s foot with the same paints I used on the canvas so the colors stayed consistent. Once you are happy with the prints I painted the mast, waves, and flag. Then I purchased an inexpensive grey frame and let Parker “give” it to his brother once he arrived.Nursery 7jpgSharing some links to my favorite Nautical Nursery Decor and books, if you know anyone having a 2nd Child any of these would make a great gift too!

Cape Cod Nautical Throw Pillow

Baby Beluga Board Book

The Snail and the Whale Book

My Favorite Plush Whale

Pottery Barn Everyday Anchor Chair Cover

Organic Whale Crib Sheet

aden + anais Dream Blanket, 100% Cotton Muslin,, High Seas

aden + anais Swaddles, High Seas

Author: lilvermontadventures

As a working mother of three 'lil boys I am experienced in the work/life juggle, and fluent in construction vehicles. After a decade in Boston at New Balance, we moved to Vermont where I lead a portfolio of strategic coffee partners at Keurig Dr Pepper. I cannot wait to share our outdoor adventures in Vermont sprinkled with some fun lessons in work/life integration, self care, organization, and being a Mom.

One thought on “DAWSON’S NAUTICAL NURSERY | AND A WHALE OF A TAIL”

Leave a comment